A bug in my mobile phone

I own a Samsung SGH-X160. It’s just a mobile phone for telephoning and writing SMS messages. I was sitting in a train last weekend and wanted to add a note to my task list in T9, but the phone didn’t know Eclipse. I wanted to add Eclipse to the dictionary, but instead the phone crashed (rebooted). I tried it multiple times and it’s reproducible:

Grab your SGH-X160, add a new task (Aufgabenliste -> Optionen -> Neu), type 3254, T9 will suggest Eckh, press zero to toggle T9’s suggestion until it gives you the option to add the word to the dictionary, press adding (Zufügen), correct the word to Eclipse, press OK. Your phone will go blank and then present you the boot splash for a half minute.

I want to file a bug and grab the source code to fix this bug. Oh, that is not possible, because the OS on the mobile phone is not free (libre) software.

4 thoughts on “A bug in my mobile phone

  1. The real problem is that Samsung have a piss poor process for you to file a bug.

    Do you seriously want to look through shocking SHP code and patch this bug yourself? You are both naive and delusional.

    Especially when you somehow managed to build yourself and image and flash your phone and then… oh no… it does not work anymore. Who are you call… ghostbusters?

    Just get a new phone. With Android or maemo on it. Love to see you fix a bug there. There are plenty there too.

    • Reporting the bug would sufficient for me.

      My next phone will probably be a Maemo or Android one, but this can take a long time. I pay less than ten euros per year for my mobile telephone bill. A new phone would be a huge investment compared to that.

  2. If you’re going to buy a “smart phone” be a man and get an openmoko. All other phones are evil.

Comments are closed.